Insight into Self-acceptance

Accepting ourselves as thinking people

Our thinking determines the degree to which we accept ourselves.

God is a rational being who thinks: 'how precious to me are your thoughts, God (pas 139:17). Like God, we are people who think and it is probably this ability that shapes our personalities more than anything else.

As thinking beings, the difficulty comes when we completely identify with an unhealthy thought rather than acknowledging it, accepting it, then dismissing it, and finding words to say to ourselves that echo God's perspective.

For instance, if my thought is telling me 'I'm stupid' then I have a choice. I can either believe it, or look to God to hear what He says about me. If I think this thought is true, I may act it out, by being unwise with my decisions, not taking responsibility or pressing my self-destruct button.

Alternatively, I can deny the thought and pretend it isn't there and unconsciously act out difficult behaviour that is consistent with it.

I think further exploration is needed into how destructive thoughts can make it difficult for us to accept ourselves.

Summing it all up, friends. I'd say you'll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things, true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious – the best, not the worst, the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. (Phil. 4:8, The Message)

It is through practicing this process that we will be able to accept ourselves more and feel spiritually alive.

Personal Reflection:
I love the thoughts and ideas that if you think positively that good things arise from it. I do teach Mindfulness so to me I feel I am able to accept the idea of how your mind impacts your behaviour. Maybe I will try another meditation each day.

Leave a Reply

